FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is the School Calendar?


The School Calender is based on 4 Terms and these follow the dates set by the NSW Education Department. The published dates for 2020 are listed below. Dates for 2020 Term 1 – Tuesday 28 January to Thursday 9 April Autumn vacation – Monday 13 April to Friday 24 April Term 2 – Monday 27 April to Friday 3 July Winter vacation – Monday 6 July to Friday 17 July Term 3 – Monday 20 July to Friday 25 September Spring vacation – Monday 28 September to Friday 9 October Term 4 – Monday 12 October to Friday 18 December Summer vacation – Monday 21 December to Tuesday 26 January 2021 Dates for 2021 Term 1 – Wednesday 27 January to Thursday 1 April Autumn vacation – Monday 5 April to Friday 16 April Term 2 – Monday 19 April to Friday 25 June Winter vacation – Monday 28 June to Friday 9 July Term 3 – Monday 12 July to Friday 17 September Spring vacation – Monday 20 September to Friday 1 October Term 4 – Tuesday 5 October to Friday 17 December Summer vacation – Monday 20 December to Thursday 27 January 2022




What are the Schools opening hours?


The normal opening hours of the School are: Monday to Friday 7:00am to 7:00pm Saturday 9:00am to 2:00pm




Are all lessons private?


Yes, Imperial Artistry is committed to 1 on 1 teaching and individual attention is a core principle. However, there are specific circumstances where a ‘class’ is of greater benefit than a private lesson. The following Courses involve class lessons: - Music Theory - Acting, and - Introduction to Music




What makes Imperial Artistry different from other Schools?


Traditional music schools have a ‘one size fits all’ approach with courses for beginners, intermediate and advanced student delivered according to a specific method of teaching (i.e. the Kodaly or the Orff method). Lessons follow the same format from one year to the next and for each intake of students. ​The approach works and it’s popular because it requires less effort to teach. But it’s based on a flawed principle - that all students have the same music ability and learn the same way. The fact is, music is not like algebra and acting is not like geometry and every student is different; each has different needs; different challenges and they learn in different ways. So, while Imperial Artistry offers the same 3 levels of courses (beginners, intermediate and advanced) and the content complies with the Australian Music Examination Board syllabus, students have the benefit of lessons that are tailored to meet their individual needs. Although this would seem logical it’s revolutionary thinking like this that stands Imperial Artistry apart in the industry.​ Lessons designed to suit a student’s unique circumstances, their capabilities, and their way of learning has proven to make the learning experience less stressful and more enjoyable. Student are enriched and their love of music grows.




Will I have the same teacher for every lesson?


We encourage students to experience different teachers from the School. It's only by doing so that you can find the right teacher for you - one you connect with.




What do the yearly tuition fees cover?


There's actually a lot that goes into delivering a lesson. Some things are obvious like the teachers salary while some are perhaps less obvious - like the costs of running the School. Here is a brief list of some of the things your fees are used for:

Actual Lessons

  • Time spent with the student.

Lessons Preparation

  • Time spent in preparation for lessons (for every hour lesson, teachers invest at least 2 hours).

School Services & Infrastructure

  • Website, computer software, photocopying, catering, and refreshments for students.

School Facility & Utilities

  • Building lease/rental, furniture, electricity, internet and telecommunications fees, and sound equipment.

School Resources

  • Teaching supplies, purchase of books, journals, and CD’s etc

Musical Instruments

  • Purchase, maintenance, and repairs.

Operational Costs

  • Government Certification costs, administration, and support staff.




What musical instruments does the School teach?


Imperial Artistry provides professional lessons for the following:

  • Piano
  • Guitar
  • Flute
  • Trumpet
  • Drums




How do I know if a teacher is right for me?


The best thing to do when looking for a Music School and teacher is to shop around.

Each is different and not necessarily the right fit for every student. It’s important to find a School and teacher that stimulates your desire to learn, who gets you and has the necessary knowledge and skills you need.

When considering a potential music teacher, we recommend you explore the following:

  1. Their teaching experience
  2. Their teaching philosophy
  3. The curriculum
  4. Their expectations
  5. How well they communicate and engage

We encourage our students to take the opportunity to experience different teachers at the School. We find this benefits everyone.





Subscribe to our Mailing List

ADDRESS

 

50 Baptist Street, Redfern - SYDNEY

info@imperialartistry.com.au

Tel: 02 8592 9041

  • Visit Our Youtube Chanel
  • Check Us Out on Facebook

OPENING HOURS

 

Monday to Friday 7:00am-7:00pm

Saturday 9:00am to 2:00pm

© 2020 Imperial Artistry Pty Ltd

Website created by idResults Pty Ltd